Yes Prime Minister Returns

Yes Prime Minister revivedLady Thatcher’s favourite TV show is the latest comedy classic being revived. Yes Prime Minister, and its prequel Yes Minister, aired between 1980 and 1988. It soon became an award-winning, cult classic and made stars of Paul Eddington – who played Rt Hon Jim Hacker MP, Nigel Hawthorne – the ever-faithful Secretary Humphrey Appleby, and Derek Fowlds – Secretary Bernard Woolley. Set in the Prime Minster’s office at 10 Downing Street, the series followed the trials and tribulations of Hacker. After the TV series wrapped, the show took to the stage and completed a theatre tour in 2011. A couple of the stage cast have now been confirmed for the latest television revival on GOLD. David Haig plays Jim Hacker MP – who is now heading up a coalition government. Henry Goodman and Chris Larkin take on the secretarial roles of Humphrey and Bernard, respectively, whilst Zoe Telford is Hacker’s aide Claire Sutton. Robbie Coltrane is also expected to make an appearance in an episode addressing Scottish independence.